Jewish Heritage Europe

Jewish Architects – Jewish Architecture?

November 6, 2018 @ 09:00 – 18:00
Beim Schlump 83
20144 Hamburg
Lipot Baumhorn, Hungarian Jewish architect

The international congress “Jewish Architects – Jewish Architecture?” aims to re‐examine the biographies of Jewish architects from the 19th century up to the present day from an international perspective. It will deal with the question whether and to which degree Jewish self‐definition and the perception of “Jewishness” by a non‐Jewish environment has influenced and still influences the life and works of Jewish architects all over the world. During the last decades, multifaceted research on Jewish architects has been conducted, however focusing primarily either on certain persons and their oeuvre or on limited regions. The conference emphasizes the need to provide a more extensive view, drawing comparisons between different times and regions – from the late 18th century to present days, in Europe, America, Israel and other countries. A new focus will be set on biographic networks, on the cultural and economic preconditions for Jews in the professional field of architecture, and on the role of Jewish women‐architects. This will also lead to the question of defining “Jewishness” in architecture as based on respective contemporary perspectives. The congress intends to examine the subject in different methodological ways. Architectural and art historians are invited as are historians and scholars from other fields to contribute to the debate, herewith developing new and trans‐disciplinary approaches to Jewish culture and history. 

A joint project of the Institut für die Geschichte der deutschen Juden, Hamburg, and the Bet Tfila – Research Unit for Jewish Architecture, Braunschweig/Jerusalem

The congress is organized by the Bet Tfila – Research Unit for Jewish Architecture, Braunschweig/Jerusalem (Prof. Dr. Alexander von Kienlin, Dr.‐Ing. Katrin Keßler, Dr. Vladimir Levin) and the Institut für die Geschichte der deutschen Juden, Hamburg (PD Dr.‐Ing. Ulrich Knufinke, Dr. Miriam Rürup, PD Dr. Andreas Brämer). Academic Board: Dr. Eleonora Bergman, Warsaw, Prof. Dr. Ita Heinze‐ Greenberg, Zurich, Prof. Dr. Rudolf Klein, Budapest, Prof. Dr. Carol Herselle Krinsky, New York, Dr. Vladimir Levin, Jerusalem, Dr. Sylvia Necker, Munich, PD Dr. Martin Papenbrock, Karlsruhe, Prof. Dr. Regina Stephan, Mainz